Three lenses and three only (!)

Discussion in 'Lens Lust' started by Pa, May 20, 2005.

1. I have a D70 with the "kit" 18-70 zoom. I'm getting a 70-300mm f/4.0-5.6D ED. I want one more - what should it be?

The objective is to cover low-light and indoor situations, museums, people etc. It needs to cost no more than the 70-300.

I'm considering the 50mm f/1.4D, or 50mm f/1.8D.

I'm just an amateur, not a pro. My wife and I do a lot of travel, I take landscape/animal/flower pictures, and my wife drags me to museums quite a bit.

Comments? Suggestions? Anything else I should consider?

Thanks in advance for your opinions.

2. Hi Pa,

I'd say the 50 f/1.4 or the 35 f/2 depending on which focal length you prefer. Of potential interest is the new Sigma 39 f/1.4 (not yet available), which may cost somewhere around $450, so a bit more expensive that these 2, which are around $260 both (with $40 rebate on the 35)

3. Chris101

Chris101

Feb 2, 2005
    Arizona
    Are you considering the 50mm because of it's aperture or focal length. Take a look at the usage of your 18-70. What is the focal length you use most often? Then get a faster lens at that focal length.

That said, I second Philippe's recommendation of the 35mm f/2 - it's the smallest, sharpest, best contrast/color, lens that I own. The upcoming Sigma 30 does look promising, but it will need to deliver a lot more than one stop to beat the 35.

4. I was considering the 50mm based on aperture. I want to be able to take pictures in low light w/o flash. Museums don't allow it!

Do you have any pictures posted anywhere using the 35 f/2 ?

5. patrickh

patrickh

May 4, 2005
    Thousand Oaks
    Consider the 60/2.8

Except for the speed in low light, all your remaining interests would be very well served by the 60/2.8 micro. It does a marvellous job on flowers and portraits and is one of the sharpest in the NIkkor range. I just love muddying the water, but that's what LL is all about.

6. Chris101

Chris101

Feb 2, 2005