To RAW or not to RAW, THAT is the question!

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Chris C, May 7, 2005.

1. Okay. I’ve bought my D70. :D I’ve been learning as much as I can about the system, even thought I’m completely new to both digital photography and computers. :shock:

My background in photography goes back to 1966. Over the years the hobby grew and grew and eventually became a side business around 1980. Then by 1985 I was selling enough salon/gallery prints to label myself a professional. The majority of my images were made using either a Hasselblad or Deardorff. For those who don’t know, a Hasselblad shoots a 2 ¼” x 2 ¼ “ square negative, and the Deardorff is a folding view-camera which makes a 4” x5” negative. So, obviously, I was interested in nothing but the highest quality images. My prints were sold in sizes starting at 16” x 20”, with 24” x 30” being the most popular, and going up to the largest I ever sold…………which was a beautiful image of a small mountain tributary printed to 4 ft. x 5 ft. I always kept a 35mm camera around for snapshots and “sketches” of things I wanted to do serious work with in the future. Had mostly Nikons and Leicas for that purpose.…………..so, that is where my mindset has always been…….. the highest quality obtainable, even in “happysnaps”.