Tokina AF 300mm f/2.8 ATX SD APO Pro for Nikon AF

Discussion in 'Lens Lust' started by Harry Lavo, Apr 17, 2007.

1. Is this lense suitable for Digital? Would use it with a D50 for sports. I don't know Tokina that well, and it appears to me that it may be an older lense that may have flair problems.

What is the overall quality of this lens? Strengths? Weaknesses?

Any help anyone can give would be appreciated.

2. My understanding is that Tamron, Tokina, and Sigma all have nice well regarded 300/2.8 AF lenses. Prices are certainly attractive but the various versions of the Nikkor 300/2.8 all have an edge I think. Good luck and post some images if you buy one.

3. zzhangz

zzhangz Guest

A kind of old auto focus Tamron won't woke with F100 and above and DSLR, please pay attention to that.

4. hardwork

hardwork

Nov 4, 2006
    Lynnwood Wash
    just ordered mine from B&H

5. eng45ine

eng45ine

May 11, 2005
    Chicago, IL
    Harry, I have no experience with Tokina, but Sigma is a great alternative. For $2,600, it is a lightning fast focusing lens and built like a tank. RandyNikonCafe just bought a used one and loves it. Contact him if you would consider one.

6. My 12 year old one works perfectly with my D200. So, that does not apply to all the Tamron 300 2.8's. And, a friend of mine bought one from KEH for around $695.00 and it works fine on his D200.

Cheers
    Nancy

7. Thanks, Frank.

8. Thanks, hardwork. Please post here after your initial experience pro or con. Sounds like it might be of interest to others as well as I.

9. Flygirl1...I envy you your photo kit and you plane! Do you know the exact designation for your lense (is it different than the one posted in the heading....my guess is it would be given the passing 12 years?) Thanks for the input given and any that may follow.

10. Fair warning, thanks.