1. Welcome to NikonCafe.com—a friendly Nikon camera & photography discussion forum!

If you are thinking of buying a camera or need help with your photos, you will find our forum members full of advice! Click here to join for free!

Top Portrait Lenses?

Discussion in 'Lens Lust' started by adio3x, Sep 5, 2008.

1. adio3x

adio3x

Aug 26, 2007
    STL
    One of my really good friends has been modeling for a good chunk of her life, and recently asked me to shoot her. On my end I have no experience shooting humans lol. I did a shoot with my 18-200VR but I'm wanting a more sharper lense.

My typical shoot will be outside. Full body shots, half body, and some closeups. Im using a DX format camera, I dont plan on upgrading any time soon, maybe in 3-4 years when I get out of college lol. I was told to go look at the 24-70 or the 70-200, but i haven't seen much portrait samples from either lenses. What do you recommend?

2. 70-200 in my opinion makes the best portrait lens. Yeah the 85 1.8/1.4 is made for portraiture but, the 70-200 is far more diverse in what you can do. I'd go the 70-200 route.

3. Phillip Ino

Phillip Ino

Nov 26, 2007
    Austin
    85mm 1.4 :smile:. Don't listen to what Jonathan just said :biggrin:

4. The 85 1.4 is the bokeh king, but I'll tell you this...every head shot photographer in LA uses a 70-200 variant. Remember the 85 1.4 will give you bokeh, but shooting a headshot at 200mm will also work in blowing out backgrounds due to focal distance. Plus you can still use the 70-200 for other things like sports, weddings, etc. It's the jack of all trade lens. Though, in my opinion the best headshots are done with a 300 2.8. :wink:

I've tried the 85 and I don't really like it. If they do an AFS version I may take another look. I find the 70-200 VR has a look more consistent with richer, warmer Nikon colors currently available on newer lenses. The 85 is more consistent with the cooler colors of that series.

5. aos111

aos111

Mar 9, 2008