Travel photography and editing with the iPad Pro

I had posted on this topic awhile back and wanted to revisit it now that I have some more experience with the iPad Pro and Adobe Creative Cloud suite. At home I have a 15" MacBook Pro essentially set up as a desktop device using a hub and old Thunderbolt Display.

Previously, I dealt with my travel photos on the road in one of two ways. Sometimes I'd lug along the laptop, and go through the nightly ritual of downloading images off the card to the internal drive and immediately backing them up on an external drive. I'd then cull and edit photos on the laptop. For other trips, I took a bit more risk and just left the images on SD cards. I had tried a couple of portable backup solutions with a Raspberry Pi, a Hootoo Tripmate, but these are kludgy and only work at USB 2.0 speeds in general. My more modern cameras all had the ability to generate local Wi-Fi networks or use Bluetooth to send images to mobile devices for a quick edit. In this case, I'd usually load a RAW up into Snapseed, edit, and share with friends and family.

However, no matter what I did, when I got home I'd have a big pile of images left to be edited in Lightroom Classic. I'm very busy with work and family activities and as such don't have nice blocks of time to edit all of these photos huddled away in the basement. I've gone months and months without getting back to these photos! I think the iPad Pro (11-inch in my case) finally offers a solution for me, albeit a bit roundabout. Here is my workflow:

1. iPad Setup- I specifically do not have my iPad photos set to back up in iCloud, which I do with my phone. I don't want big image files immediately trying to backup to the cloud.