Trip to Europe!

I

iamnamja

Hi everyone,

My first post here... I'm new to the DSLR world, as I have just received my D3100 as a gift a few weeks back. I'm still in the process of reading up on how to get used to and... actually use the camera...

I have a few questions that I was hoping that you guys will be able to help me. I'm planning a trip to Europe (France and Greece) in a month, and I want to make sure I get the best out of my camera.

So, for one, I'm looking to buy a lens for the camera. I've been looking at the 35mm or the 50mm prime lens that they have on Amazon. I know that the 50mm f/1.8 is coming out in June, so that's a bit risky, and so i'm leaning towards 35mm. Do you think this lens will be sufficient for me?

Also, as I have found out recently, my D3100 won't work with a remote! Any suggestions on which after market remote shutter release product works best with my camera?

Finally, any other suggestions, or experiences on what I should bring along for my camera will be helpful. I got the lightest tripod (zipshot), a bag, lens cap... and roughly 100GB of combined memory.

As you can see I'm very exited about this trip, and want to make sure that everything's perfect. Thanks!

B

Bill N

With the self timer switch on the top deck I don't even bother with a remote when I use mine. The 35mm AFS lens is sweet on the D3100, the photos have the feel of 50mm on film, it will also be sweet for low light. That said, even a light cheap zoom like the 18-55 or 18-70 would be great for wondering around because of the excellent high ISO that the D3100 has. A couple years ago I took just an old D50 with a 18-55vr lens and was very happy with what I brought home. Good luck and have tons of fun, you should have a blast that will give you some life long memories!!

Edit to ad, welcome to the Cafe!!!

I

iamnamja

Thanks Bill!

You may be right... I'm really debating what I should do about the remote shutter release.