Trip to Italy...which lenses to take?

Discussion in 'Lens Lust' started by Gandalf, Jul 8, 2007.

1. Gandalf

Gandalf

Nov 15, 2006
    Arkansas
    Later this year my wife and I are going to Italy, and I want to be smart about which lenses to take. I'm NOT experienced at traveling with photo gear, and I've never been to Europe. I don't want to pack any more weight than necessary. I would really appreciate some advice from experienced travelers regarding which lenses to take.

I have a D200, and the following lenses:

Nikon 28-70 (Beast)
    Nikon 18-200 VR
    Nikon 12-24
    Nikon 80-400 VR
    Nikon 200 f4 (micro)
    Nikon 60 2.8 (micro)
    Sigma 170-500
    Nikon 80-200 2.8
    Tokina AT-X 28-70

Some of the older lenses were part of a package deal a few years ago when I bought some used equipment from a pro that was shutting down his studio. I have since acquired the newer lenses.

I'm thinking I should take the 28-70 (for inside and low-lght shots) and the 18-200 (walk-around). Also maybe the 12-24 (although I've noticed the photomerge tool in CS3 works pretty well, so do I really need to take a wide-angle if I can stich panoramas?).

Will I regret not taking the 80-400? It's kind of heavy.

Don't think I'll need the micros...?

Thanks for any advice!

2. You have quite a selection to choose from!

I have been to Italy many times, but not since I have gotten a DSLR. I have traveled with DSLRs quite a bit recently, however. For an upcoming trip to Australia, I plan to take the D200, 18-200VR, 12-24, and either 50/1.8 or 35/2.0. For macro (not likely to want it), I'll have my Canon 500D close-up adapter for the 18-200. I'm acquiring a second 18-200VR for my wife's D40. We'll probably also take the 18-55 kit lens for the D40, and that will be it.

The 18-200VR is so versatile that I can't justify taking much else. Rich Gibson posted some wonderful shots of Rome last year from his 18-200VR.