1. Welcome to NikonCafe.com—a friendly Nikon camera & photography discussion forum!

If you are thinking of buying a camera or need help with your photos, you will find our forum members full of advice! Click here to join for free!

Trying To Find My Style

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by adr3naline, Aug 13, 2008.

1. Hey everyone... I love taking pictures. I'm a designer at the same time, so I try to integrate principals and elements of design into my photographs. I want to get more into photography now. I want to have photography be a strong presence in my portfolio, but I'm attempting to find my nitch, or style.

I'm sure I'll get responses to this question like "just get out and shoot", or "practice", which is fine... but how would you recommend that I find my style?

I love taking pictures of cars, motorcycles, landscapes, nature, architecture, people, etc. How did you do it?

2. Chris101

Chris101

Feb 2, 2005
    Arizona
    Style can certainly be developed. I prefer to think of it as your voice. What do your photos say that others do not. A photographer does not start out with a style, and it may take some time to discover it. But there are steps you can take.

First is determine what you like. You have a list, which is good. Some parts of it are pretty broad though, so try to narrow what you feel are the areas you like best. Take people for example. Do you like candids, portraits, humor, kids pretty girls ... you get the idea.

Then look at lots of photography. Not just here, but in books, magazines and of course, the internet. Look specifically at the ones that are in the areas you identified above. What do you like about them, what would you do differently.

Third try to emulate the style of shots that you see above by shooting similar subjects, setups and lighting. As you do this, you will find yourself becoming more and more divergent in you own personal style. At some point, it will not be trivial to determine your influences.