Unaware

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by the_traveler, Aug 7, 2007.

1. I have been here on and off for a few months and have decided to be more active and leave my original forum for several reasons:

1) the number of absolute total beginners is relatively small and thus there are few if any very basic queries.
    2) when people do ask questions, it is clear that they have done some work and are not expecting to be spoon-fed everything, and most importantly,
    3) the level of pictures and manners is much higher than any of the other forums I've visited

That all being said, I am a little surprised at the very low incidence of any kind of constructive criticism, even in the occasional posting where the picture could benefit from issues being raised. Is this a conscious decision on the part of the mods and have I missed this in the instructions somewhere?

2. PJohnP

PJohnP

Feb 5, 2005
    Lew :

There is an icon to request C&C, and it's used from time to time by various people. The numbers of people who request it isn't high right now, but that ebbs and flows over time according to various indeterminate factors.

I know that in my case, I try to offer fairly reasoned and considered C&C, but I don't have the time available for doing this every day. I suspect that this is true of some others.

That said, post some shots with the C&C icon [​IMG] attached to gather attention and then we'll have a constructive go at what you offer !

John P.

Last edited by a moderator: Mar 15, 2017
  3. Look for example, at BostonRott's post "Charles River--critiques welcomed" in the landscapes section. I think there was hard hitting critique and discussion, and no one got hurt but we all had our say and learned from each other.

Last edited by a moderator: Mar 15, 2017
  4. Thanks, I never connected the icon with any different kinds of responses (and I thought myself to be observant).