Unprocessed Shots

Discussion in 'Retouching and Post Processing' started by cmpalmer, Oct 20, 2005.

1. cmpalmer

cmpalmer

Jan 27, 2005
    Huntsville, AL
    I've been shooting a bit with a D70 that I'm about to buy and, of course, there is a big learning curve. I've been getting some good shots after post-processing, but not a really good percentage, and I expect that. I've shot hundreds of rolls of 35mm on a Minolta SLR and a Nikon N60 SLR, so I'm not a complete novice to SLR use (although I am a bit rusty).

What I would like to see from some of y'all is before and after shots. What the camera captured with no post expect for resizing for the forum and then the end result of that same shot after your best results of post processing.

Here is an example:

Before:
    54313459_9839671531_o.
    Obviously, I didn't do a great job of getting the exposure right.

After:
    54313456_87372ac350_o.
    This was just quickly touched up with Picassa -- I normally use PSPro, but I didn't have it available and I sometimes use Picassa as a quick and dirty processor because it doesn't alter the original file.

So, I don't really want a critique of my photos, per se (although you are welcome to do so), I just want to see what good, experienced photographers are getting out of camera.

2. Gale

Gale

Jan 26, 2005
    Viera Fl
    Greg,
    I think I would shudder to post some of my unprocesed shots :>))))

You did a great job in PP. Love the bird house. Good colors.

3. cmpalmer

cmpalmer

Jan 27, 2005
    Huntsville, AL
    Yeah, but that's the point :biggrin:

I've seen the "look at this crappy picture I took and how well it looked after PP" shots and the "I've processed this shot, but then I went back and did it again and improved it", but I would like to see some "I really sweated over the settings and took 50 exposures and this is what it looked like right off my CF card (and then I made it even better)" shots.