Upgrade d50 - Whether and to what?

I am sure this has been beat to death, and I apologize in advance. I have a buddy who is still shooting film but has been borrowing my d50 more and more for the small scale journalistic work he does. He is perhaps the last living human without a computer and is absolutely not tech savy, which is why he has resisted switching to digital. Two days ago, he asked if I would sell my kit to him - a d50, couple of batteries, 18-70ed and 70-300ed with a hand full of filters.

I am not adverse to acquiring new stuff, but I really like my d50. My dilemna is what am I gaining by going to a d80? Should I be thinking about jumping to a d200? I am a straight amateur and shoot mostly candids, travel and youth sports. Any insight is appreciated.

They are both a step up from what you've gone. I'm not going to do any comparisons (you can look at those on many websites), but what I will ask you is to think about what it is YOU want to do with your camera that you don't or haven't done yet...focus on those capabilities and see which one offers that and if the price differences are worth the upgrade for you. Certainly the higher the model, the more bells and whistles but if you're not even thinking of using them than why bother spending the $$ on it.

Also if you're thinking that others might be using it as well who aren't into cameras it might be better to stick with a D80 which has more of a consumer focus than the D200. OTOH, the D200 does have been weather sealing and protection if that's important to you. It's something you have to look at for yourself. Perhaps the best thing to do is go check it at at a camera shop or big box retailer to get a sense for each and then decide.