Used market prices - Pro bodies vs. Prosumer bodies

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Jonathan F/2, Jul 22, 2008.

1. I've been watching the sales forum on the 'cafe and other fora that sell camera equipment and one thing I noticed is that flagship bodies tend to take the biggest hit in the used market! Not only do they get major price hits once a new update or body come out (ex: D2X to D2Xs to D3) once they are replaced, their price significantly drops. Yet with prosumer bodies (D200, D300, etc.) they usually hold their price at a certain threshold. I'm beginning to wonder if it's better to invest in prosumer bodies due to the rate of replacement since cameras are becoming more like computer in that sense?

I mean, I shoot for a living, but having to upgrade, sell, rinse and repeat is beginning to get really annoying! I pretty much have all the glass I want and at this point in my career and the way the economy is, I'm beginning to think prosumer bodies are a far better investment, especially in the fast pace of upgrades. Looking back, I've literally have gone through over a dozen camera bodies in the last 5 years! I bet the camera companies are richer than ever before. Ridiculous!

Any other others want to chime in? Thanks!

2. I think gold or oil commodities are investiments. I buy a tool which does what I need.

3. Digital camera bodies are like computers, don't buy one thinking you are going to get a whole lot back when you sell. They definitely are not an investment, unlike good glass :biggrin:

4. I agree we have to buy the tools that are necessary to get the job done. But with the D300, D700 series of cameras having most of all the technical pro features (withstanding pro-durable build) you can't really get much better. In fact my circle of photographers, the D3 has barely caught on, because most are in agreement the D300 is good enough and cheap enough.

I'll give a good example of a decision I made recently which is: