?: Using flash with HDR

Hello everyone,

Always great to be with you!

Im brand new to HDR photography and I also enjoy taking images with off camera flash. I wanted to combine the two and see what I can do, however, Im not exactly sure as to the best approach.

If I am shooting at sunset in the desert and want to add flash to say, a cactus, would it be best to use the flash on just one of the exposures and take the other bracketed shots without the flash? Or, rather take them all with flash and just bracket the ambient light?

In addition, I guess you can do the bracketing with all flash images as well.

What would be the best approach to this? Is it a situation where its just trial and error or do you think there is an ideal way to tackle this?

Thank you so much for your expertise and time. I always appreciate hearing from you!

best,

Rick

Growltiger

Administrator
Administrator
Interesting question, I have never come across flash HDR.
I suggest you try the following.
  • You would need to use Manual mode, and you would need the same lighting for every shot, providing the same balance of ambient and flash.
  • So set it up like that and make sure you are getting a correctly exposed shot.
  • Next, simply change the aperture and repeat the identical shot. That will change the amount of light from both flash and ambient equally.
  • Repeat with more aperture settings.
I'm sure there are alternatives, such as bracketing ambient and not the flash, or vice versa, but that sounds a bit harder to get right. It depends so much on what you are trying to achieve. I look forward to seeing some results here.

Real Name
(Mike) Michael Skerritt.
I wonder if you just have your camera set up in bracketing mode IE. One over one proper and one under exposed by one stop will that changes automatically for you .I think it should work? and should be fun.
But then again I have never had cause to do that myself.:stop::playful:(y)
Mike