Utility of the 35mm lens?

Discussion in 'Lens Lust' started by kgill, Aug 1, 2007.

1. kgill

kgill

Jul 25, 2007
    Europe
    Hi Again!

I am wondering if you might share with me, for those of you who use one, why you like your 35mm lens (on DSLR body), what you use it for primarily, and if you see a real value in having the 35mm f/1.4 AIS over a 35mm f/2.0?

I am kind of leaning toward putting the f/1.4 AIS on my 'wish list', but am wondering if it makes sense to have that prime if I will also have a 17-35mm in my kit-- some people have said the 17-35 is better at 35mm than the prime...

Thank you all for your help and thoughtful observations!

Kristina

2. I cannot really answer your question, since I have no experience with the f/2 version.
    I do have the Ai-S f/1.4 version and can tell you that it is an outstanding lens. The CRC close range correction is very effective. You can be very creative at f/1.4 with it (but that takes a bit of practice - certainly not a no-brainer). Then, stopped down a tad at f/2 or f/2.8 it is incredibly sharp.
    Methinks that the f/2 version is nice, but cannot compete in those areas (just a non substantiated opinion).

3. I can reply to some of your questions as I have the 2.0. I use it primarily for everyday people, inside shots. The focal length just seems to work for me. I also have a 17-55 and 28-70, but the 35 is not far off quality wise. I also find the 35 not as intimidating to the subject (usually one of my little kids) as either of the other zooms.

4. The humble 35/2 is so versatile that I use it as my walk-around-lens. It's lightweight and not much larger than a lens cap. Here it is, featured on my d200. It makes an unobtrusive rig that doesn't scream PHOTOGRAPHER! I think the metal hood adds a cool, retro look.

original.

But despite its diminutive size, this affordable lens packs quite a punch in terms of speed and image quality. Here are a few samples from my recent trip to Florida.