Venice in B&W - My first ever self-developed roll of film.

Following on from my enormously over-hyped, "My fist ever self-developed negative" post :tongue:, I decided to create a whole new thread just to share the other images from that oh so important roll of film.

The film in question was 35mm Fuji Acros 100, cruelly developed in a potent 1/25 mix of Rodinal R09 :131: (I realise now that I could have used a more 'gentle' dilution, but I was just following the instructions on the packet - I'm still learning :wink:). The camera was a Nikon FE and the lenses were all manual focus Nikkor primes.

Enjoy!

Scan_2011_132-1-1.jpg
Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)

Scan_2011_185.jpg

Scan_2011_157-1.jpg

Scan_2011_136-1-1.jpg

Scan_2011_137-1-1.jpg

Scan_2011_163-1.jpg

Scan_2011_135-1-1.jpg

Scan_2011_142-1-1.jpg

(This last one went a bit wrong due to camera shake, but for me it was a 'happy accident', as I really like the feel of the image).

Thanks for looking and (again) thanks a lot to all of you here who encouraged me to get into (first) shooting 35mm film and then to develop and scan my own negs :smile:.

Merry Xmas!

Andy

Nice, Acros is really sharp. I always had some contrast issues, but your stuff looks wonderful. I really need to visit that place one day. And I agree, that last one is almost painterly. Wonderful stuff!

Nice, Acros is really sharp. I always had some contrast issues, but your stuff looks wonderful. I really need to visit that place one day. And I agree, that last one is almost painterly. Wonderful stuff!

Thanks Koen :smile:!

Just two things to say in response:

1. My (Epson V500) scanner appears to be set to automatically pick white and black points and stretch the contrast accordingly, as when I switch off all of the default settings I just get an underexposed mass of grey and black :frown:.

2. Every photographer needs to visit Venice before they die :biggrin:!

Real Name
Chris