WARNING !!!! Do not photograph a color run...heres why!!!

http://petapixel.com/2013/05/08/photographing-a-color-run-will-destroy-your-camera-gear-dont-do-it/

I have been asked to photograph color runs for two years straight, and have turned down every single one. This is the reason why. A friend did it last year, and after mulling it over he took his D40 and 18-55 kit lens rather than his good stuff... needless to say the cleaning cost more than the D40 was worth, and the lens was ruined. He still uses it as far as a i know but it does weird things lol.

Not even sealed lenses and bodies are safe, which i suspected but did not want to test my theory.

Cincinnati is hosting one soon and I foolishly didn't even think about this!
I'm new to photography and that was almost an expensive lesson.
Thanks for the link

Thanks.! We have one in Amsterdam 26th this month.Its the same stuff Hindi use to celebrate Holi . Basically its talcen powder (the stuff you put on your baby's but).
I remember from a few years back that my 2nd hand D1 died under suspicious conditions weeks after shooting Holi.For the color run i planned to seal my camera and lens in the plastic they use for sealing cargo pallets.Else a big plastic bag might do the same.Tape the opening round your hood,and use LV instead of your finder.A UV lens might give some protection to the lens, but it doesn't give 100% protection for the "funny" guys who think they give a special treat cause you have protection.

• Thread Starter Thread Starter
I went to one and saw several people weaing painters respirator masks, now I know why. i may consider the cheap P&S, never thought of that, but I recently quit smoking and I cant see how this would be any different.

... but I recently quit smoking and I cant see how this would be any different.
Congratulations on quitting need to stop the cigars myself :smile: