Wedding contract ideas

The other day at dinner a friend of mine who is a full time wedding photographer told me an interesting story. During a conversation, a potential customer told him that one of the other photographers he checked out had two outlandish demands in his contract. One was that he would be the only person at the wedding allowed to use a DSLR and the other was that if anyone else showed up with one and refused to put it away then the official wedding photographer could pack up his gear and leave and no refund would be issued.

At 1st I thought those demands were insane and maybe even a little rude but after having some time to think about it I actually understand them. It especially makes sense if he was a traditional wedding photographer who makes little from the events but rather makes most of his money from prints. I’ve been at weddings where I’m an official photographer yet I’m bumping shoulders with other folks for position at the cake cutting or bouquet toss. I’ve also had formal shots ruined because the bride (or groom) was looking in my direction while the groom (or bride) was looking in another, distracted by all the cameras around us.

This got me thinking about what kind of stipulations I’d put into a contract if I was a full time wedding photographer.

So I ask you, fellow Nikon cafe members, what kind of requirements would you put into a contract to protect yourself, the quality of your work and allow you to do the best job possible?

Other people with DSLR cameras don't bother me. If you show up with a D3, 24-70 with a Custom Bracket and SB-900, everyone knows who the official photographer is. As far as the B&G looking at someone else, you just have to control the situation politely. Either that or go into PJ style, sometimes these are the best shots.