Wedding photo processing

Discussion in 'Retouching and Post Processing' started by icecavern, Jul 14, 2008.

1. OK here's a question for you seasoned wedding pros :biggrin:

How do you process images?

What I mean is, when you see most great wedding photos they've had various effects on them to turn a good photo into something to be proud of. But how do you decide what to do, and then how do you do it :confused: 

For example, I've just posted up some of my last wedding shots here and although I like them all ( ok the bride shots may have benefited from some fill flash ) I don't know where to start on the processing side of things :( 

Help! :rolleyes: 

Last edited by a moderator: Mar 15, 2017
  2. Well, I'm no expert, having shot only two weddings, but I definitely improved in my PP from my first to second... one thing I did was just to Google some wedding techniques, and I found a few pages of stuff that looked like fun, so I tried them. Otherwise, I PP a pic according to what it inpsires in me... for example, it has to be the right kind for a B&W conversion... or detail shots that might look good slightly desaturated with a little vignette. Or maybe some flowers in the shot that would look good in selective color. Here's a link to a few of the "best" from my latest wedding... maybe you'll find inspiration there. :smile: http://www.flickr.com/photos/75816832@N00/sets/72157605533402237/

3. jfrancis

jfrancis

May 8, 2005
    Orlando, FL
    I use a combination of presets in Lightroom, Nik Efex Version 3.0 in Photoshop and some actions in PS. All images are color and exposure corrected in LR first though, and my 'best' straight color version produced first. From these, I select images that will suit my favorite effects. Which work best is really down to experience, although the beauty of LR presets is that you can just hover over the effect name and see the results in a preview window first. Nik Efex also allows a preview.