1. Welcome to NikonCafe.com—a friendly Nikon camera & photography discussion forum!

If you are thinking of buying a camera or need help with your photos, you will find our forum members full of advice! Click here to join for free!

Weddings: Where to Begin?

Discussion in 'People' started by Jeff Fillmore, Jul 3, 2007.

1. Okay- So I really think I would like to shoot weddings someday. What is the right way to begin?

My daughter was a flower girl in a wedding last month and I studied the photographer closely. I thought he was very good and while I watched him in action- particularly with candid shots at the rehearsal dinner and the reception- it really sparked my enthusiasm to try this out myself. I know I would need a better camera body, some more lighting, a back-up, etc. But the last thing I want to do is sell myself as something I am not and possibly screw up somebody’s wedding day. Obviously everyone who shoots weddings did it for the first time once- so what is the best way to get started, develop a portfolio, gain confidence, experience, etc.

I bought a couple of books and am reading up on it. Is there such a thing as photography apprenticeships? Or maybe I should just nose around and find a couple who could not afford a photographer otherwise and would be grateful for my best effort? Some honest feedback here would be sincerely appreciated.

2. Chris101

Chris101

Feb 2, 2005
    Arizona
    Wedding photographers NEED assistants and second shooters. There is less pressure in those positions as you will not be responsible for the whole shebang. If you know anyone who is starting shooting weddings, check with them and see if they will hire you as an assistant. Once you know the routine, move up to shooting second, and finally to being the photographer.