What beginner lens for a wedding?

Discussion in 'Lens Lust' started by lms6241, May 30, 2007.

1. lms6241

lms6241

Apr 16, 2007
    Michigan
    My sister has asked me to take pictures for her wedding in three months. I will be the only photographer :eek:. I'm a beginner and I don't know anything about photography but I'm working on it. I am shooting with a D50 on Auto mode right now. I hope to know so much more by September. What lenses would you suggest?

2. bep207

bep207

Nov 27, 2006
    Columbia, MO
    what kind of budget are you working with?
    that will help narrow suggestions

3. How about an 18-200mm VR, sb800, and Gary Fong lightspheres?

4. You should also think about a second body.

Definitely, lighting is extremely important. You may want to think about an SB-800 since your D50 doesn't have wireless flash control and an SB-600 for off-camera.

But your budget will dictate how much you can get.

5. weiran

weiran

Jan 2, 2007
    Nottingham, UK
    As Dianne says, get the Gary Fong light sphere as if you're outdoors or in a tall building you won't get the chance to bounce the flash off the ceiling.

I would also suggest you take your camera out and practice taking pictures of people "on the street". You'll want to be completely familiar with your camera so try to use it as much as possible. Also start trying out aperture priority mode (A) as usually you'll want to use the fastest aperture for weddings.

In terms of lenses, most pros use a mix of f/2.8 zooms, ncluding the 17-55, 28-70 and 70-200VR. The fast apertures will let you throw distracting backgrounds out of focus, and will be very useful if your sister doesn't want you to use a flash!

Perhaps rent the 70-200 for a week to get used to it before taking it to the wedding, and then rent a second body and plonk your 18-200 on it (or ideally rent the 17-55).

6. Cope

Cope

Apr 5, 2007
    Houston, Texas
    I agree with Ed