What Did I Do....

I worked as an executive for a very large computer company for 33 years. In recent days/months - it was becoming less and less fun. The basic principles that I was raised on - trust, honesty, leadership and taking care of your people - seemed to be making me a dinosaur...

About 5 years ago, I started a small (very) photography company - focussing mostly on figure skating. Sales were good, the business grew - but even the success I had in no way could replace my day job.... I currently do about 35-40 different 'events' a year - skating, high school sports, weddings, etc..

Back in the early months of this year, I had enough (with my day job). I asked my boss to 'give me a reason' to leave - and they came back with a package - thus I am now a retired person.

My goal now is to grow this little photography company into something that will put food on the table and maybe pay a few bills. It is interesting though - for 5 years all I did with the profits was to turn around and buy more and more equipment - and the thought process in doing so was very little. After all, it was all play money... :smile: I have already noticed my buying cycle is getting more reviews (by me). I hope this does not deteriorate on me...

So where am I rambling to? I decided that after 5 or so years at 'playing' at this, I need to write business plan to get me to the next level. Has anyone who is doing something similar every written a business plan for a photography company? If so, can you share any 'ah ha's' or learnings or pitfalls?

You might want to check your local community college. I know our's has a continuing education class in writing business plans, along with other aspects of running a business.

Carole