1. Welcome to NikonCafe.com—a friendly Nikon camera & photography discussion forum!

If you are thinking of buying a camera or need help with your photos, you will find our forum members full of advice! Click here to join for free!

what is going on with my new sigma 10-20mm? HELP!

Discussion in 'Lens Lust' started by CH@Dbee, Aug 17, 2008.

1. CH@Dbee

CH@Dbee

Apr 12, 2008
    Cummimg, Ga.
    just got the lens the other day and started noticing something on the middle rightside of my photos....

atlskyline4.gif
    Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)

View attachment 240615

ok so i thought...dirty sensor right? well to make sure i put my 50mm on and now the spot isnt there. i dont know if its in my head or the reflections are playing games with me but i swear i see something floating around under back element.

im still kinda new to this stuff so could somebody please help me and tell what is going on here?

2. Although obvious, try cleaning off the lens if you haven't already. There may be some dirt, grime, or a hair on your front or rear element.

3. Could this just be flare?

4. Try shooting at a clear blue sky or a sheet of white paper to better define the particulate. You might be able to see some contamination holding the lens wide open close to a strong light........

Cheers

Ted:smile:

5. Nikkor AIS

Nikkor AIS

Jun 5, 2008
    Alberta
    Dust on the sensor.

Gregory

6. CH@Dbee

CH@Dbee

Apr 12, 2008
    Cummimg, Ga.
    i cleaned it twice lol still there.
    no flair on a plain white wall :frown:
    i shot againt a white wall with the 10-20 and it was there, with the 50mm it wasnt
    but its not there when i have my 50mm lens on

7. If it is a new lens, of course I would take it back.

Hold lens up to a light source to see if you can see anything on the glass. Use a magnifying glass to get a closer look.

MikeT

8. panda81

panda81

Feb 7, 2008
    Texas