What languages do you know?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by AFS, Oct 10, 2005.

1. Hi there.
    I started thinking, after reading the what do you do for a living thread... it is a good and fun idea to learn things about each other. I find it makes us all a bit closer every day.
    So how about...
    What Languages do you Know?

This can be speak or read/write.

Let's start with me.
    I speak English- surprise surprise.
    I also am becoming rather fluent in Italian, and I am a brilliant Latin scholar, according to my teacher of many years, who has studied in Rome with the Pope's own Latin translator.
    I truly love both of those languages, but I must say the passion of my linguistic life is Latin. Ever since my principal at elementary school gave us an etymology presentation, and we began learning about latin roots, I had wanted to take it. When I graduated from that school and moved on to my current school, Gulliver, in 7th grade, I could finally take that class.
    And so, in 2001, I began Latin I-A, with Mr. Juan Carlos Garcia.
    I didn't realize I was to learn from a master with such a deep passion for Latin. He instilled in me that passion, and under his tutelage I have mastered the language.
    I had him as a teacher for Latin I-A, I-B (8th grade), III (summer class, between 9th and 10th), IV-Honors (10th), and now AP Latin Vergil in my junior year. Our class is small, the two of us, plus my best friend. We have always been his top students, and both of us do not waver in our duty.
    In fact, as soon as I finish this post, I'm right off to my room to translate up to line 380 of Book I of the Aeneid.