What Telephoto for Z7 and Wildlife?

I’m a rank amateur with some exceptional opportunities thanks to my job bush flying in the north. Used to guide hunting and now shoot with a Nikon for fun.

Startewith a D3400 a couple years ago, and upgraded to a Z7 in January. Running the FTZ adapter and my old Nikkor 200-500mm F5.6. It is a remarkable lens for the money! This said, I get a good deal of graininess at the long end, and I’m always shooting the long end of the lens offhand. No time or space for a tripod or remote shutter, as I’m always on a 3 min break from work to grab some shots.

I’m starting to look to my lens for an improvement in the resolution, stability, and graininess. I’d really enjoy some aperture range as well compared to my F5.6 200-500. Is there a solution for the Z mount, either with an F mount lens or with a teleconverter and a Z mount? My budget would be $4000US for the lens.

If the chief shortcoming falls with the operator of the shutter don’t be afraid to tell me that, too.

What I’m trying to do, better. And I’ll take every equipment benefit I can get. These are all heavily cropped and run through Lightroom mobile, only the otter was close enough to get what I really want (7-10 yards).

4F60E2A9-104B-45FA-A459-4DAEEE338808.jpeg
Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)

A73DAA67-CCD5-4AEE-A8B3-49E8224E0FCA.jpeg

7E006A46-201F-43AD-A751-FFECBAECB4A6.jpeg

What iso are you shooting at when you experience "graininess"? That is not usually related to the lens itself. Of coarse the 5.6 does force a higher iso.
To be honest, if you are heavily cropping at 500mm, the only real improvement would be the 600mm f4, and even used that is way more than $4000.
It is also very large and very heavy- don't forget to include that in your decision making process.
Those are great shots! Can you include the metadata- iso, shutterspeed, aperture? We may be able to help some