1. Welcome to NikonCafe.com—a friendly Nikon camera & photography discussion forum!

If you are thinking of buying a camera or need help with your photos, you will find our forum members full of advice! Click here to join for free!

What to Charge?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by GeeJay, Sep 30, 2008.

1. GeeJay

GeeJay

Jan 26, 2005
    Florida
    I was asked by a local hardwood floor company to take all the pictures of their installations. Please let me know about charging and how to do it.
    I have never done anything for 'pay' before so don't have a clue how to charge. Also, want to be fair to me and I suspect I'd 'short change' myself inorder to be a 'nice guy'..

So help me if you can. And also how do you charge for mileage?

2. PJohnP

PJohnP

Feb 5, 2005
    Gaye :

Can't answer the other one, but mileage is easy. Use the IRS rate, which is 58.5 cents/mile currently (IRS Site).

John P.

3. rocketliv

rocketliv Guest

You need to charge what your time is worth to you. If you look at photography sites, photographers are charging anywhere from 45 - hundreds per hour. So it really depends on you personally and what you want to come from it. Will your name be credited on the photos? Will you print the photos for an additional fee or will they?) Are you giving them copyright? Those are a few things to consider that may help you decide.

4. Walter

Walter

Jan 13, 2006
    Columbia, Maryland
    Walter Rowe
    Photography license fees are calculated based on client usage, not by time. The creative fee takes into account the complexity and time required to take the photos, edit and make selections, process them, prepare them for delivery, and deliver them to the client. Some contracts show creative fees and license fee as separate line items. Others combine them into a single line item. I personally combine them.