1. Welcome to NikonCafe.com—a friendly Nikon camera & photography discussion forum!

If you are thinking of buying a camera or need help with your photos, you will find our forum members full of advice! Click here to join for free!

What to do down the line? Suggestions welcome....

Discussion in 'Lens Lust' started by corns5, Jul 22, 2008.

1. corns5

corns5

Mar 21, 2008
    Florida
    That's a question I am sure many have pondered in the ongoing pursuit of getting to be better with better equipment. I am a digital newbie, having an old Nikkormat years ago, and loving my new D80 since April. I love my new pursuit, and hope to round out my collection down the years.

I am saving my $$$. Come Sept/Oct I plan to make one of the following purchases to help my collection improve:

Either:

A new D300- most expensive, but if I plan to take my photography to the 'next' level I think this may be important. I think there will be more D300s that are used for sale, as folks upgrade to the D700. Then again practice and education is a must, and that works with the D80 as well.

New lenses:
    either:

Prime 35mm f/2.0 and

Prime 85mm f/1.8 or

17-55 Nikon f/2.8 for a better wide angle zoom combination than the 18-135 kit lenses that I have, and enjoy, as it's ok in sharpness in adequate lighting.

Is the D300 worth the upgrade for me at this point, or should I gather new lower minimum aperture lenses(better glass) first? OR maybe by then (Sept/Oct) who knows. Just thinking it through. I certainly can't afford, nor can I even think of the D700 at this point, not there..... yet! :eek:  But the D300 looks rather pretty to me at this junction in time with higher ISO capability in low light than the D80. I have trouble with lighting, even with my SB800, and am more often than not more content with ambient only lighting in my photos. Experimenting with the flash only at this time, and learning....

Thank you all for your wonderful input!