What WB should I use for landscapes?

A noob question but how do you guys usually set white balance for landscapes? I've always left my camera in auto WB outdoors, but should I be using daylight WB?

Even though I shoot in raw, adjusting WB is something I never think to change in Capture NX2 (which I'm still a noob at), but after going back to old photos it seems to affect landscape colors quite a bit if I pick daylight instead of Auto.

If you know it is Daylight, why not simply say so? The Auto modes have to guess and try to figure something out. There is nothing dumber than a dumb computer. :smile:

Daylight of course also includes cloudy and shade, which are different situations (which matter).

And also there is personal preference. Some people prefer to set Cloudy when in bright sun, for a bit warmer tone.

The beauty of RAW is that we can sit there and try several things, and get it just like we want it.

Try getting into using the K setting.

Daylight (according to NIkon) is 5200K - I have been using that for as long as I can remember.

In my RAW Converter I then note what K setting best suited the conditions I was was shooting in. I try to remember that the next time I'm shooting in those conditions making "correct" in-camera shooting easier.

Shooting in RAW "CAN" make a better Digital Photographer of you if you're willing to put in the work.

DG

Try getting into using the K setting.

Daylight (according to NIkon) is 5200K - I have been using that for as long as I can remember.

In my RAW Converter I then note what K setting best suited the conditions I was was shooting in. I try to remember that the next time I'm shooting in those conditions making "correct" in-camera shooting easier.

Shooting in RAW "CAN" make a better Digital Photographer of you if you're willing to put in the work.

DG

My D50 doesn't have K settings but will try to do that when I get a new body.