1. Welcome to NikonCafe.com—a friendly Nikon camera & photography discussion forum!

    If you are thinking of buying a camera or need help with your photos, you will find our forum members full of advice! Click here to join for free!

Where can i find a great deal on a D3?

Discussion in 'Nikon FX DSLR Forum' started by bokehmanedof, Jul 23, 2008.

  1. if anyone here knows where i could get a great deal on a D3 please PM me.
    Im still not sure about what i want to do about the D700, but if i find a great deal on a D3, more than likely thats what im going to go buy.

  2. there are no deals on D3 bodies now
    even after the D700 comes out
    you'll be paying >>$4,700.00 for some time to come

    i wish you luck
    but.... why would think that there would be some kind of deal on.... nikon's flagship camera that has won every recent award?

    not trying to offend.... just wondering
  3. no offense taken greg, with rumors of the D3x and 700 here, i thought maybe i could find a good deal on a D3. Calumet now sells them for $4495.00, i also saw D3's on ebay for about $3900.00.
  4. there really are no $3,995.00 D3 bodies
    those are hoaxes, i'm sure

    the D700 is so much money.... it won't bring the price of the D3 down that much

    as for the D3X.... i doubt we'd "SEE" one in a store for a minimum of 6 more months... and, that will keep the price of a D3 close to MRSP for a while longer, i'm afraid
  5. smodak


    Jun 11, 2007
    Franklin MA US
    Groovy Geeks' deal is pretty good.

    $4542 with free shipping from amazon is a good deal.
  6. yoose


    May 17, 2008
    Hong Kong
    you could try this place

    they have a good rating on resellerratings.com and listed along with photmania on there, which is an authorized nikon reseller. Others on another nikon forums have reported successfully receiving their D300 and confirmed that its an USA model.
  7. They are 3899 on ebay from a legitimate seller. Not a hoax but it is a new grey market camera.
  8. NPA2008


    Apr 15, 2008
    You can buy a brand new D3 on eBay for about $4,000 or slightly more depending on your seller choice. There are legitimate sellers with 4-digit and 5-digit feedback scores who will sell you a brand new D3 for much less than you will pay elsewhere.

    I would not advise you to do this unless I myself did it. These are NOT a hoax. As a matter of fact, I am thinking about getting yet another D3 this way. You don't like gray market? Well, then pay up! Or buy a D700 for $3,000.

    Is the D700 worth $3,000 when you can buy the D3 for only $4,000? No, not the way I see it. Wait until the D700 has been available for year, then get a new one for $2,000 on eBay.
  9. Wow! Thats a good deal.
  10. NPA2008


    Apr 15, 2008
    I considered buying from us1camera.com when purchasing my latest D3. The comments about this merchant on resellerratings.com made me feel uncomfortable. While there were many good comments, there were plenty of bad ones too that reminded me of dealing with Brooklyn, NY stores.

    If you decide to purchase your camera from them, then use a worthy lender who will back up their cardholder agreement. Don't even think about paying any other way than by credit card for this item.
  11. Yes you are right, i think ill stick to the D700 plan, or if i find a good deal here on the used forums, Thank You all for you advise.
  12. I just checked us1camera - they have grey market for $3849 and Nikon USA for $4099.

    Would I do business with them ? If I did, I'd phone them, double check everything and use a credit card that provides protection. I'd also decline any other equipment or accessories.
  13. NPA2008


    Apr 15, 2008
    Their contacts are in Portugal.

    $ whois us1camera.com

    Domain Name: us1camera.com

    Created on..............: Thu, Feb 14, 2002
    Expires on..............: Sun, Feb 14, 2010
    Record last updated on..: Mon, Nov 05, 2007

    Administrative Contact:
    Domain Discreet
    ATTN: us1camera.com
    Avenida do Infante 50
    Funchal, Madeira 9004-521
    Phone: 1-902-7495331
    Email: 3005756e0a1411510084c16c5ba0d760@domaindiscreet.com

    Technical Contact:
    Domain Discreet
    ATTN: us1camera.com
    Avenida do Infante 50
    Funchal, Madeira 9004-521
    Phone: 1-902-7495331
    Email: 300575890a14115101e35366e756c3f9@domaindiscreet.com
  14. us1camera, AVOIDE AVOIDE AVOIDE< they are scam artist, go to BBB and check there record...

    Pro-package with 18-55 DX lens?!!!!!!! that says it all.

    Wow! I jest checked there site, the D700 is in stock with over 20 packages, mostly with cheap DX lenses, NICE ONE
  15. That is simply an anonymous domain registrar. Nothing really to do with the company. It is used to protect domain ownership details to avoid spam and ID theft. Please note - I am not defending their selling habbits, just pointing out what the 'whois' shows.
  16. NPA2008


    Apr 15, 2008
    Of course it is.

    Now tell us how comfortable you would feel by ordering the lowest price D3 anywhere from an online retailer with questionable feedback and a domain contact based in Portugal.
  17. davewolfs


    May 23, 2006
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.