Which lens is my best bet

I need to rely on those here that have these lens to help me make my decision. I'm finding that while at the ski hills I'm often in low light from either being there at early morning or at night when just the ski hill lights are on.

Long term I will be upgrading to the D300s replacement if/when that comes out.

Short term I'm looking at two lens.

1) NIKON 17-55mm f/2.8G IF ED AF-S DX Zoom

or

2) Nikon AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.4G

From what I read the 50mm appears to be a good lens but the focus is listed as slow. Since I have no experience with this lens I'm not sure how slow slow really is.

Which lens would be my best bet? If the 17-55 is the better lens and will get me the low light photos I'm after great. I was told to go with the 50mm prime though since it's a sharp lens and the 1.4 will let in even more light.

Your thoughts?

Do you need zoom or only a 50mm lens? that's the first question...? If you want the DoF of the 1.4 lens you shouldn't get the 17-55 2.8. If you want versatility get the 17-55, more range but at the cost of light... 2.8 is enough for most of my needs and since you are getting the D300s follow up you'll be able to use some higher ISO (like 3200-6400) which will make up for the light loss.

Another option would be a 50 1.4 or 1.8 and a 35 1.8 (you're staying on DX format so 35 is possible)... with maybe a wide-angle prime with 2.8 (10.5 secondhand?)

Depends on the type of shots you're looking for.

For me, I would want something really wide - 10.5 fisheye would be amazing on the ski hill. You could easily turn it on yourself while on the chair lift. All your shots will have an ample dose of sky and environment.

If you're looking to get tight shots of family as they come down the hill then you need something longer.

If you want to do a bit of both the 17-55 could work but it is awfully big and heavy to be toting on the ski hill.