Who to contact at the newspaper for paparazzi style candids?

Discussion in 'Studio Equipment and Lighting' started by Steve S, Jun 29, 2005.

1. Steve S

Steve S

Feb 1, 2005
    SE Florida
    There's a lot going on around town this next week with our 37th annual 3 Rivers Festival. I plan to attend some of the more interesting events, to get some "photographic exercise", and was wondering who I might contact at the local newspaper to offer some of my shots to? Does it pay anything worthwhile?
    Also, would it be a good idea to identify myself with some sort of nametag, displaying my name, and that I'm a freelance photographer? That way ppl might not think I'm some kind of nosey perv. Well, they might anyway! ;) Where could I get something like that?
    Here's one from last yr's opening parade entitled "End of the line". This was the last person to finish the long parade route.
    original.

2. JordanLFW

JordanLFW Guest

Re: Who to contact at the newspaper for paparazzi style cand

Your D2X should be good enough :wink:

3. mf44

mf44

Jun 4, 2005
    NJ & MD
    Re: Who to contact at the newspaper for paparazzi style cand

It really depends on the paper. Generally I'd suggest talking either to the photo editor or the editor in chief (if it's a smaller paper and you can easily reach them). The problem is that the local papers usually pay diddly squat for freelance shots, regardless of how rare or exceptional they may be. Off the top of my head, I know the local weeklies pay something like $18 for the 1st photo, $12 for 2nd, and less and less for more shots from the same location. That's provided they even use them. And don't forget that they usually purchase all rights to the photo.