Who uses 2 bodies (DX and FX)?

I have an FX body and love it. There are times, however, that I'd like a longer reach than my 70-300 can provide. Have been thinking of a new lens, but the >300 options are not all that great or affordable for me.

Partly as a result, I've been thinking of adding a D300 (or D300s) as a 2nd body. I could then get the reach and also potentially be able to shoot with 2 different focal lengths on 2 bodies without changing lenses.

I'm not a pro so I can't write any of this off.

Anyway, I'd like to hear from those who use 2 bodies (FX plus DX) to hear about your experiences. Some questions to address include:
- How often do you take 2 bodies with you given the hassle/weight factor.
- What do you find most useful about shooting with 2 bodies? least useful?
- etc..

Thanks for any and all insights.

I usually use my DX bodies. In those cases where I need a stronger body or the chances of damage are there (sandy beaches, etc), I will bring my FX body instead.

But in my current workflow I prefer DX over FX - my DX bodies simply give much better image quality (especially high ISO) than FX for me!

When I got my D700 I decided to keep my D300. I use the D300 mainly in two instances. For sports shooting when I like the extra reach that it gives my 70-200 (or in other instances when I need that extra reach), and for when I want to go light. I took the vertical grip off my my D300 and placed it on the D700. I can now put the 18-200 on the D300 and have a light/compact setup.

A

andrew wilson

I almost always shoot with two bodies - there isn't time for lens changes in a lot of the stuff I do. Sometimes FX sometimes DX - but I rarely mix the two.

Sometimes I use D700/D300 combo. My go to kit lenses are the 17-35 and 70-200.

When I know I am covering something that would benefit from the wide angle FF of the D700 and the extra zoom of the 70-200 on the D300, I use a two body combo.