Why did you choose Nikon?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by dL302, Aug 13, 2008.

1. dL302

dL302

Aug 7, 2008
    Vancouver
    First off, being a newbie here, I apologize if this topic has been discussed in the past. Upon searching, I couldn't type words like "why" or "nikon" so I don't really know how to find this.

Anyways, why did you choose Nikon? Share your stories and experiences here.

I'll start off...

I chose Nikon because 1) my girlfriend told me Nikon is the way for DSLR, 2) the ergonomics is just miles ahead than Canon, 3) build quality is much nicer than Canon (comparing the budget ones), 4) clearer viewfinder (later found out D40 has pentaprism viewfinder), 5) D40 kit lens is much better than the XTi 6) price (D40 is best bang for your buck).

I used to only shoot with Canon P&S and this is the first time I've owned a Nikon. I must say I've made the best choice to try a Nikon out. I doubt I'll go back to Canon in the future, but who knows. At least for sure, I'm already saving up for a D300 :D 

Go Nikon Go!

dL

2. It was handed down generation to generation.

3. My father shoots Nikon, and now, so do I.

4. In August of 2003, I was living in Virginia Beach, Virginia waiting for then hurricane Isabel to make landfall. A few days prior, I went out to Ritz Camera to look at buying a new SLR camera to document the hurricane as it passed by. In my mind, I wanted a Pentax body. Upon going to the store, they did not sell Pentax but they did have Nikons and Canons. I asked about the difference between the two brands and what hooked me to Nikon wwere these: 1) a metal lens mount on the body (the Canon body I was looking at had a plastic one), 2) backwards lens capability. That day I walked out with an N65 and I haven't looked back.

God Bless,
    David