Why the Switch?

Discussion in 'Other Cool Gear, Camera Bags, Camera Straps' started by C2020, Aug 1, 2007.

1. After perusing the 'for sale' section, I'm curious why some heavily-invested Nikon photographers are selling their kits and moving to Canon. What is Canon offering that Nikon isn't? I'm sure the same thing is happening on the Canon end but with all the high quality lenses and camera bodies available from both manufacturers I find myself wondering what I am missing.

I know I prefer my D80 over the 20D and Rebel XTi because the ergonomics of the Nikon is more intuitive to me. Every time I use a friend's Canon I get lost in the menus and the Rebel itself is too small for my hands. The photos from all three cameras are excellent, more dependent on the photographer's skill than the camera manufacturer.

I'm not a professional photographer, I don't make money with my photos so my viewpoint is admittedly narrow, I'm just wondering what drives one to change camps when so much is invested already in the other.

2. SP77

SP77

Jun 4, 2007
    Rockville, MD
    - superior high ISO noise performance and therefore speed (usable iso3200 and acceptable 6400 on the 1D MkIII)
    - faster frame rates for sports at much higher resolutions (10 fps and 10MP on the 1D MkIII vs 8 fps and 4MP on the D2Hs)
    - big daddy full frame 1.0x sensor cameras and 1.3x crop factor sensors for ultra-wide angles and/or ultra high resolution photos