Will my nikons handle these conditions ?

Discussion in 'Nikon DX DSLR' started by Desmond, Jul 16, 2007.

1. OK , this was taken in a snow cave with my S70 2 years ago but in August I am going to climb this same mountain [ Ruapehu New Zealand ] , there will be a ski competition where competitors have to climb three stages and ski back down . There will be other photography outfits there but i want to climb to the highest point nd get some decent shots of the competitors as they reach the top . It will be held regardless of weather . Now: I have the gear to protect myself I'm just not sure about the D50 and D80 . I bought a waterproof "sheath" for the 70-200 lens but was wondering if I shouldn't just take the D50 and 70-300G lens to be safe . I expect temperatures around -10 to +10 degress celcius . I can do something to protect them from water I'm just wondering about cold , what they can handle ?

summit091.

Last edited by a moderator: Apr 12, 2009
  2. I have ZERO experience with those conditions; however, I would hate to go to all that trouble and not get the shot. My first thought is to put your gear in a freezer overnight and then see if any of it still works. Finding out that your lens won't stop down or your shutter won't release AFTER you make the climb would really suck.

Bob

3. The batteries will be depleted faster in those conditions, so if you have more than one, always keep the other in a pocket on your person to keep it warm. I've shot several film bodies and the D200 and D2X in very cold temps (-25ยบ F) and the main problem has always been that I can't get more than 10 or 15 shots before the battery goes.

Here in the Rockies, the snow gets very dry at higher elevations, but since NZ is a narrower land mass, perhaps the snow on Ruapehu has more moisture content....?

Sean