Wondering if anyone else has faced this...

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Dramatapix®, Jun 14, 2007.

1. I host a photo site as part of my home studio and part time photo work on Smugmug. Yesterday I was bombarded with comments on my guestbook page from a single person professing to be a professional photographer for over 25 years. This person lambasted my photos and proceeded to tell me how bad they were and that it was obvious that I am just starting out, and that I should take some lessons, and look at other peoples work, etc.

I'm all for critique and suggestions to better my work, but this was unsolicited and in my open gallery. Has anyone else faced this kind of negative approach to your work? Is this common that other photographers might be so threatened by other people and their work that they feel it necessary to seek out websites of others and arbitrarily comment negatively on what they feel to be less than their own standards?

I did lock down my commenting so that now I need to approve all comments, but I have to admit that I was a little taken back by this action... Worse yet, he has me questioning my own abilities!!!! Geeeeez, what a way to make someone feel good.

2. wbeem

wbeem

Feb 11, 2007
    Sanford, FL
    William Beem
    Open comments tend to be a draw for anyone who needs attention. Approving comments is one way to handle it, but it's time consuming. One of the better approaches I've found is to require authentication of some sort.

People aren't quite as naughty when you know who they are, or at least how to reach back to them.

3. Yeah no doubt... I tried to get him to at least give me an email to reply to , or a way to contact him and he just kept on going that it was his lot to seek out "bad photographers" and expose them. Good God~!