1. Welcome to NikonCafe.com—a friendly Nikon camera & photography discussion forum!

If you are thinking of buying a camera or need help with your photos, you will find our forum members full of advice! Click here to join for free!

Working on B & W, CC Please

Discussion in 'Black and White' started by mksjjs, Aug 16, 2009.

1. mksjjs

mksjjs

Dec 29, 2008
    Taos, New Mexico
    Ok so I'm studying more on B&W. I've researched different tips, one mainly not just turning my image into grayscale, but rather desaturate and adjust. Well I took this image sometime back and thought it might look more interesting in B&W. Now what I've done is just a test, I've played and adjusted tones. I've read that B&W is more about grays than blacks. I could be wrong on that one. Anyway, tell me what you think. Thanks!!

3828997744_4b9f7a731e_b.png
    Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)

2. On my monitor the front is underexposed. I would lighten it up a little. The sky and clods are washed out. Whiter clouds on a darker sky would work better. The image is rather flat. The mountains look drab. Maybe it can be improved with some PP work.

Maybe something like this:
    [​IMG]

3. Chris101

Chris101

Feb 2, 2005
    Arizona
    Yer welcome Manuel!

For the curious, here is the adjustment I made. Note the posterization in the clouds - this is produced by curving an 8 bit image, so you should be able to do much better by working on your original NEF. (I hope that you shot in Raw!)

[​IMG]

4. mksjjs

mksjjs

Dec 29, 2008
    Taos, New Mexico

Learned my lesson a long time ago, camera always set to RAW!! Ok, ok, ok, maybe now and then jpeg+RAW.

5. IanT

IanT

May 14, 2008
    London UK
    Manuel, - I hope you do not mind...

I really like this image and could not resist having a little "tweak"...

p610902191-4.jpg
    Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)

I ended up with a very similar feel to Chris...