WTO protest, hong kong

Discussion in 'Photojournalism, Candids and Street Photography' started by malfayu, Dec 18, 2005.

1. hi everyone, as you may have seen on the news, there was a big protest/riot here in HK and naturally, i was there to spectate/ photograph as i had nothing else to do. Anyway, this is my first stab at photojournalism and it was such an adrenline pumping experience. My D70 is beng fixed for back focus:frown: , so i decided to try the Nikon FE that i got from ebay few weeks back. I've never used a MF camera before, i can't believe satisfying and quick it was in use, and that viewfinder is like heaven compared to that crappy hole in my D70. it's good since i'm a newbie at this, any advice will be most welcome. Anyway, here are some pics that i though i'd share
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    The riot police
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

All pics taken with Nikon FE set on auto, Fuji RVP 100F, Sigma 70-200 2.8 and Nikon 18-35, you can surely tell which one i've used for each shots.

2. sorry here are the photos

first post, i didn't know i had to host my pics somewhere online

anyway-
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Last edited by a moderator: Dec 19, 2005
  3. Good PJ shots! You're pretty brave to venture into such an unpredictable situation.....

4. Nice shots, and very brave.

A friend called me yesterday afternoon to go and take pictures. I declined because
    1. I was on 24 hours standby and didn't want to be held up in traffic if I needed to rush back to my hospital when there were large number of casualties, and
    2. It's a very dangerous and unpredictable situation and I didn't want to risk myself or the camera, plus
    3. Presence of civilians would complicate the situation and made life difficult for the police