Your thoughts on 80-400VR? pros and cons

Discussion in 'Lens Lust' started by Cschend, Apr 2, 2007.

1. Cschend

Cschend

Apr 1, 2007
    SLC, Utah
    I am currently shooting with the 70-200VR + 1.7tc which gives me a range of 320mm - but I need(want) more range. I would really love to get the 200-400VR but the strings on my wallet are saying NO. So my next alternative to satisfy my need for instant gratification would be the 80-400VR. Would this be a worthwhile purchase? Or should I be happy with my current setup and wait till some $$$ comes knocking on my door? Is there another less expensive (than the 200-400) alternative which will give me more range? Can I use the TC with it? How will that affect my images?
    I want to shoot mainly wildlife and birds with it, with the occasional sports shots of my kids. I am a newbie, serious amature, but aspire to something more.
    Thanks for yor input!

2. I've owned the 80-400 for several years - I would have to be in pretty bad shape to get rid of it as it works very well for longer landscape shots. The truth is that it just isn't a lens built for wildlife or anything that moves at any considerable distance. It focuses pretty slowly compared to the AF-S lenses as well. When I shoot in Yellowstone, I usually have the 80-400 on one body for shooting grazing bison and distant landscapes, and the 400 2.8 handles anything else that is moving or in low light. It's a sharp and fairly distortion-free lens, but for what you're describing I think you'd be a bit frustrated with it.

Sean

3. snownow

snownow

Jul 13, 2006
    so cal
    Try looking at the 300 f4 and a 1.4 Tc. It seems that most people love this lens and set up and a pretty fast focus. Its also in the same price range your looking at.