Zoom zoom zoom...

Discussion in 'Lens Lust' started by Uncle Frank, Jun 10, 2005.

1. Here's a set of pictures from the Tamron 18-200, showing its amazing range. My apologies for the mundane scene, but there weren't a lot of choices in front of the camera store. Unedited... just downsized.

18mm

32mm

52mm

85mm

200mm

No lust, but it is a pretty trick little package.

2. fks

fks

Apr 30, 2005
    sf bay area
    hi frank-

did you go shopping at keeble & shuchat? :)

amazing range with that lens, what aperture(s)?

ricky

3. I note that both Tamron and Sigma have 18-200 f/3.5-6.3 lenses for Nikons at the same price.

Would they be of the same quality?

I note that the Sigma is slightly smaller and lighter than the Tamron.

I'm new to this game - does one brand have a higher-quality reputation?

4. Hi, Ricky! Good call. I was right in front of Keeble & Suchat.

I was working at max aperture throughout the range, so the 18mm shot was at f/3.5, and the 200mm shot was at f/6.3.

5. Tamron, Sigma, and Tokina are all highly regarded aftermarket lens manufacturers, Pa. I haven't seen a specific comparison of the Sigma and Tamron 18-200 offerings, but I'd imagine they're very similar in quality. Heck, they might even be the same lens with different packaging.

A fellow on DPR offered me some examples from the Sigma.

http://forums.dpreview.com/forums/read.asp?forum=1030&message=13830242

6. fks

fks

Apr 30, 2005
    sf bay area
    hi frank-

in the mid-90's i used to take caltrain from work in sj and would stop at the california street station to visit lee's comics. k&s was always closed by then, so i could only look in through the windows. oddly enough, august or so of last year was the first time i stepped in the store (lost my eyecup and luckily they had one in stock).