1. Welcome to NikonCafe.com—a friendly Nikon camera & photography discussion forum!

If you are thinking of buying a camera or need help with your photos, you will find our forum members full of advice! Click here to join for free!

Opinions Please (With Corrected B/W)

Discussion in 'Birds' started by hangin tree, Mar 24, 2007.

1. EagleB_W.

View attachment 86876

I would like your Opinion on this. Please be honest.

I'm not partial either way.

Last edited by a moderator: Mar 26, 2007
  2. Well, you asked for it! I love eagles no matter how you photograph them BUT, I like color when it comes to wildlife. To me, black and white wildlife looks "dead" to me. I'm not good at the technical parts of it - but by looking, I liked the way the tones and shadows show up. Then the different shades of grays, white, and black. Sorry I don't know how to say it any better or more tactful. I really don't like saying anything negative about anyone's photos! Sorry! :redface:

3. Chris_B

Chris_B

Mar 12, 2006
    Arlington, VA
    I like the BW better. It has more perceived contrast and a tougher feel to it. Definitely more gritty in a way that works very well. There is a halo from what I guess is sharpening on the top of the head however.

4. Thanks Dianne

I'm looking for opinions and I Appreciate yours.

Watch the thread and see how it turns out.

Thanks Chris

Yes, it could be from sharpening as I sharpened as usual after reducing the size.

5. Chris_B

Chris_B

Mar 12, 2006
    Arlington, VA
    This one is interesting since I normally like wildlife shots in color. In this case, the black and white is more striking.

6. For me, I prefer birds in colour. I prefer flowers in colour, unless it's in an artistic presentation. I love the depth of browns in an eagle's body...

7. Thanks Chris

I'm struggling with the same thing

Thanks Sandi

It is interesting to see others opinion and it really points out that it is really in the eye of the beholder.

8. Commodorefirst