Opinions Please (With Corrected B/W)

Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)

View attachment 86876

I would like your Opinion on this. Please be honest.

I'm not partial either way.

Last edited by a moderator:
Well, you asked for it! I love eagles no matter how you photograph them BUT, I like color when it comes to wildlife. To me, black and white wildlife looks "dead" to me. I'm not good at the technical parts of it - but by looking, I liked the way the tones and shadows show up. Then the different shades of grays, white, and black. Sorry I don't know how to say it any better or more tactful. I really don't like saying anything negative about anyone's photos! Sorry! :redface:

I like the BW better. It has more perceived contrast and a tougher feel to it. Definitely more gritty in a way that works very well. There is a halo from what I guess is sharpening on the top of the head however.

Well, you asked for it! I love eagles no matter how you photograph them BUT, I like color when it comes to wildlife. To me, black and white wildlife looks "dead" to me. I'm not good at the technical parts of it - but by looking, I liked the way the tones and shadows show up. Then the different shades of grays, white, and black. Sorry I don't know how to say it any better or more tactful. I really don't like saying anything negative about anyone's photos! Sorry! :redface:
Thanks Dianne

I'm looking for opinions and I Appreciate yours.

Watch the thread and see how it turns out.

I like the BW better. It has more perceived contrast and a tougher feel to it. Definitely more gritty in a way that works very well. There is a halo from what I guess is sharpening on the top of the head however.

Thanks Chris

Yes, it could be from sharpening as I sharpened as usual after reducing the size.

This one is interesting since I normally like wildlife shots in color. In this case, the black and white is more striking.